Beet Dip

Growing up as a Jersey diner employee, the word “beets” brings to mind a fluorescent pink mushy vegetable swimming in onions and vinegar. I would have never anticipated that I would actually grow very fond of beets. A “beet lover” or “beet freak” if you will. The first time I tried them was when traveling in South Africa when I was served grilled beets at a brai. Much to my surprise, they were yummy! I have been enjoying them ever since…and I can’t help but giggle when they “pass” (try this recipe and you will see for yourself)!

We have rows of beets planted in our garden, and I am getting very excited to try them! I watch the backyard bunnies, and mentally threaten them just incase they think they are going to break through the chicken coup fencing and nibble my precious beets!

My colleague shared this recipe with me when I shared my love of beets with him. His wife created the recipe, and it sure is yummy! Plus, who doesn’t love bright pink food??

20130524-193214.jpg

Ingredients:
3 medium beets – scrubbed with greens cut off
Juice of one lemon
3 Tbsp. olive oil
1 can small white beans – drained and rinsed
1/2 cup toasted walnuts (cashews or pine nuts would make good substitutes)
1 clove garlic
Dippers (I love carrot sticks to fit my modified paleo diet, but it is even better with pita chips)

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. Wrap beets in foil after drizzling with enough olive oil to just coat them.
3. Roast beets for 1 hour or until soft.
4. Allow beets to cool and then peel them (they WILL stain your fingers, countertop, and clothing. Wear gloves if possible and be sure to clean up with bleach right away).
5. In a food processor, combine all ingredients and grind until smooth.
6. Serve with assorted dippers. Veggies, pita chips, or tortilla chips work great!

One thought on “Beet Dip

Leave a Reply

