Sundried Tomato Hummus

I know I have mentioned this before, but I am getting married soon! In 36 days to be exact. This weekend, my girls are kidnapping me to bring me away for my bachelorette weekend. I have no clue what to expect, but I have been told to pack myself a lunch. Usually I would be thrilled by the notion of a bag lunch. As a teacher, I always look forward to field trips for the chance to pack myself a peanut butter and banana sandwich with a granola bar and juice box. Now, with my modified paleo diet, it isn’t quite a no brainier anymore. As I get whisked away tomorrow, I plan on packing a big container of this hummus, carrot sticks for dipping, mixed nuts for some extra protein, and plenty of water….after all, who knows what lays ahead of me!

Hummus for this weekend is a win/win/win situation. I get to use my Ninja Blender (by far my favorite kitchen gadget…ever.), I get a yummy lunch, and I get to send my fiancé off on his bachelor party fishing trip with a tub of hummus for the guys.

20130614-164201.jpg
Ingredients:
1 can chick peas drained and rinsed
1/4 cup tahini
Juice of one lemon
1 clove garlic
2 Tbsp. chopped sundried tomatoes
2 Tbsp. olive oil
2-3 Tbsp. water
Salt to taste
“Dippers” – sliced veggies for the paleo crew (pita chips to make the others happy)

1. Combine chick peas, tahini, lemon juice, garlic, sundried tomatoes, and olive oil in food processor. Blend for at least two minutes until smooth.
2. Add water little by little mixing in between until hummus reaches your desired thickness.
3. Add salt to taste and blend one last time.
4. Serve topped with a drizzle of olive oil and a sprinkle of paprika (optional). make sure to have lots of carrot sticks, celery, and sliced red peppers for dipping!

Leave a Reply

