Spicy Asian Sugar Snap Salad

Tis the season for outdoor barbecues! Fa la la la la, la la la la.

We are psyched to go to my parents’ house this evening for some grilling and fireworks! Being on the Advocare 24 Day Challenge, it makes eating dinner away from my kitchen a bit sketchy. By bringing my own side dish that could double as my dinner just incase I can’t find anything else, it takes the pressure off me.

Our garden is thriving, and I want to share its yumminess with my family at tonight’s get together. The sugar snap peas won’t last much longer, so I decided to whip together a refreshing salad with them!

20130704-114641.jpg
Ingredients:
2 cups sugar snap peas
1 can sliced water chestnuts – drained
1 Tbsp. hot chili sesame oil
2 Tbsp. soy sauce
1 tsp. crushed ginger
1/4 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. sesame seeds
1 tsp. red pepper flakes (optional)

1. In a small bowl, create dressing by whisking together hot chili sesame oil, soy sauce, ginger, garlic powder, sesame seeds, and red pepper flakes.
2. Place sugar snaps and water chestnuts in a large mixing bowl. Pour dressing over and gently mix.
3. Transfer to a serving bowl, cover, and refrigerate for at least one hour before serving.

Leave a Reply

