Mission Accomplished. Advocare 24 Day Challenge Advice.

I can’t believe I am about to say this, but I have reached my wedding goal weight… 13 days early.

I have been working towards this since October, but have gotten very serious since April 1st. Between intense workouts and a completely modified diet, it has been very hard work.

The Advocare 24 Day Challenge is what I give a lot of the credit to. When starting it in April, I was at a loss for how I would go about this lifestyle change. Upon its completion, I put together this list of advice for friends of mine who were about to embark on the challenge themselves. I hope that this list finds its way into the hands of other people who are looking to be successful on the 24 Day Challenge too.

20130707-123602.jpg
Purchase the Challenge Bundle

Things I wish I knew before starting the challenge:

-Spaghetti squash, almond flour, hard boiled eggs, fresh ground peanut butter, and almond milk were all staples for me. A trip to Whole Foods may be a good idea before starting.

-Plan ahead! Knowing what you are going to be eating the night before makes a big difference! I also would sort out all the pills so that I didn’t have to worry about it throughout the day.

-I went through so much lemon and garlic. Great flavor without the calories. Also, Savory Spice Shop in Westfield has amazing spices that seem to have way more flavor than what you get at the supermarket.

-Google “paleo recipes”. They are carb and dairy free! I also use Pinterest a lot and there were some awesome idea there.

-Instead of planning out lunch each day, make an extra helping of dinner and reheat it the next day!

-The fiber “drink” during the cleanse phase is awful. Unfortunately, I don’t have any suggestions so it doesn’t suck so much. The only perk is that you won’t have to do it every day.

-During the second phase, you get a protein shake. I suggest getting the chocolate one and then making it in the blender with water, ice, and a spoonful of peanut butter. It is like a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup!

-The supplements come with Spark energy drink. If it isn’t totally mixed with ice cold water, the clumps have a nasty aftertaste. I would make mine in my blender bottle (a plastic cup/lid with a metal ball that mixes the powder in. They sell them at Whole Foods too).

-I was told every day to stop weighing myself each morning. I couldn’t resist, but when the scale stopped moving for the last week and a half it was so discouraging. I would really suggest trying to wait until the last day, because even though is may be stuck at the same number, you will be losing inches.

-There were times when I really just needed something sweet. I always had sugar free Jello ready to go in my moments of weakness. 20 calories a serving!

Leave a Reply

