Caponata Smothered Chicken

I made a scrumptious eggplant caponata today and I needed a way to turn it into dinner. The workouts have gotten harder (ok, I just haven’t given myself a break for days on end. 11 to be exact.) and my body could use the protein. Marinated chicken breast provides the perfect medium for shoving this delicious caponata in your face! No time to make our own? Most grocery stores carry a couple varieties in the ethnic aisle.

20130709-200653.jpg
Ingredients:
2 cups eggplant caponata
2 chicken breasts
2 Tbsp. white balsamic vinegar
1 Tbsp. olive oil
2 cloves garlic – minced
1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes

1. At least an hour before cooking, whisk together vinegar, olive oil, garlic, and red pepper flakes. Pout into a ziplock bag, add chicken, and refrigerate.
2. Preheat grill to medium high and grill chicken until done (about 5 minutes per side).
3. Top each piece of chicken with a mound of caponata (either warmed or cold) and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Caponata Smothered Chicken

  1. I have eaten Caponata, or Caponatina as we used to call it for my whole life and I must say I have never thought of this combination. I am looking forward to working this out and giving it a try. Thanks, love the page!

    Guy Humeniuk

Leave a Reply

