Turkey Beet Chili

I am back! Wow, this has been a crazy busy fall for me! After the wedding excitement of the summer, I hit the ground running as I rejoined the real world. I coach in addition to teaching, so the fall season tends to be a blur for me. We started our volleyball season in mid August, and it has been non-stop since then. My husband has been incredible at picking up my cooking slack, but now I am ready to get back in the kitchen! After an undefeated volleyball season, a county championship title, 39 mile walk for breast cancer, plus bonding with my wonderful new students, I am back with more ideas than ever!

Unfortunately, our beautiful garden is turned down for winter. We picked the last of our beets, so I wanted to mix the fresh garden flavor with the comfort food of fall. Beet Chili it is!

20131109-180203.jpg
Ingredients:
1 medium onion – chopped
3 cloves garlic – minced
2 Tbsp. olive oil
3 large beets – peeled and chopped into 1/2 inch pieces
1.5 lbs lean ground turkey
1 can chick peas – drained and rinsed
1 tsp. cumin
1/2 tsp. chili powder
1 cup chicken stock
Salt & pepper to taste

1. In a large pot, heat oil over medium heat and brown the onions and garlic. Lower heat and stir in beets.
2. In a large nonstick skillet, brown the turkey. Drain and add to the beet pot.
3. Stir in chick peas, cumin, chili powder, chicken stock, salt and pepper. Reduce to low heat, and allow to simmer for at least one hour.

Leave a Reply

