Apple Stuffed Pork Loin Roast

I have been seeing images lately on Pinterest of apple slices wedged into pork tenderloin. Well, the full on pork loin roast was on sale, so I went for that instead. I also realized that cutting slits in the pork would dry it out, and the apple slice version is intended for a crockpot. I still had it in my mind that I would make an apple roast, so I experimented a bit! I decided to butterfly the hunk of meat, but I had never tackled such a feat. Luckily, I found this very helpful site. It was so simple to prepare the meat, and it allowed me to easily roll the stuffing into it!

20131121-201024.jpg

20131121-201038.jpg

20131121-201045.jpg

20131121-201050.jpg

20131121-201055.jpg
Ingredients:
2.5 to 3 pound boneless pork loin roast
1 small apple – peeled and diced
2 Tbsp. dried cranberries
2 Tbsp. chopped walnuts
1 Tbsp. honey
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
Splash of apple cider vinegar
Salt & pepper

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
2. Butterfly roast and pound both sides with a meat tenderizer.
3. In a medium bowl, mix apples, cranberries, walnuts, honey, and cinnamon.
4. Place apple mixture on flattened roast, and tightly roll. Secure with kitchen twine and place in a roasting dish.
5. Splash the roast with apple cider vinegar, and generously season with salt and pepper.
6. Roast for approximately 90 minutes or until it reaches an internal temperature of 160 degrees.
7. Remove from oven, let sit for 5 minutes, remove twine, and then carve into generous portions. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

