Crockpot Chicken Cacciatore

To my followers, yes, I have been MIA lately. Over Thanksgiving weekend, I found out that I would be expecting my first child in August! I am over 13 weeks pregnant, and I am very sorry to report that my cravings have knocked me off the paleo wagon. While I may not be showing just yet, I am working on my cookie belly. I am trying to maintain a healthy diet while I still workout 5 days a week, but carbs have worked their way back into my diet. This meal is delicious as is….however, I will be serving it over a mound of whole wheat pasta!

IMG_2368

Ingredients:
4 chicken leg quarters
1 large onion – chopped
4 cloves garlic – minced
1 large green pepper – chopped
8 oz sliced mushrooms
1 6 oz can tomato paste
1 20 oz can whole plum tomatoes in tomato juice
1 cup white wine
1 tsp red pepper flakes
1 Tbsp basil
1 Tbsp olive oil
Salt and pepper

1. Generously season the chicken with salt and pepper. Heat olive oil in a large skillet over high heat. Brown chicken on both sides and transfer to the crockpot.
2. Lower heat to medium high and add onions and garlic. Allow to sauté while stirring occasionally until fragrant. Stir in peppers and mushrooms and cook for 5 minutes. Add tomato paste and stir until thoroughly incorporated. Add white white and stir to deglaze pan. Cut plum tomatoes into quarters and add with the juice to the pan. Stir in red pepper flakes and basil.
3. Pour sauce over chicken in the crockpot. Cook on low for 8 hours.

One thought on “Crockpot Chicken Cacciatore

  1. I just made this delicious dish last nite put it all in my crock pot n woke up this morning with a beautiful smell all over my apt. Totally recommended it came out delish n it was sooo easy to make

Leave a Reply

