Paleo-ish Lactation Cookies

20141119-111415.jpg

I realize that this recipe applies to a very small population, but I think that for those who are interested, this will be greatly appreciated. When I was three months postpartum I decided it was time to get back on the paleo train. Baby weight plus postpartum binging had me feeling super gross. I feel fabulous now that I am eating clean again. I am almost completely paleo again with a couple of exceptions – oatmeal being one of them. I am exclusively breastfeeding my sweet angel, and like most mothers, I am worried about supply. Oats are known to boost supply, so I am not willing to give them up for as long as I continue to nurse.

This recipe includes several ingredients that are known to increase milk production. Some of these ingredients require a special shopping trip, but are worth it:
Brewers Yeast – I got mine in powder form at GNC.
Flaxseed Meal – My grocery store carries “Bob’s Red Mill” brand.
20141119-105746.jpg

Cooking is so much for fun with my little sweet pea! Please don’t strap your infant to you and make this recipe if there are nut allergy concerns!
20141119-105752.jpg
Ingredients:
Makes 2 Dozen

1 cup almond butter
1/4 cup coconut oil
2 eggs
2 Tbsp. honey
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 cup coconut sugar
1/2 cup ground flaxseed meal
2 cups oatmeal
2 tablespoons ground brewers yeast
1 teaspoon baking soda
Pinch of salt
Optional add-in:
1/2 cup raisins

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. With an electric mixer in a medium bowl, mix almond butter, coconut oil, eggs, honey, and vanilla until smooth.
3. In a large bowl mix together coconut sugar, flaxseed meal, oatmeal, brewers yeast, baking soda, and salt.
4. Mix wet ingredients into dry ingredient bowl. Using your hands will help it not be so crumbly.
5. Spoon 1.5 inch balls of dough onto a cookie sheet and gently “smoosh” each one. Bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown.

Leave a Reply

