Paleo Pumpkin Pie

I was at Trader Joe’s doing a paleo stock up shopping trip when I saw cans of coconut cream. I was intrigued and tried to figure out what I could do with it. I got it home and opened it and found a super thick and rich coconut product. Yum! It reminded me of evaporated milk, so I figured it would make a great pumpkin pie. Boy am I glad that I was right! I was a bit nervous as this was my first attempt at a paleo pie, but it turned put awesome!
IMG_0520.JPG

Ingredients:

For crust:
2 cups almond meal
1/4 tsp. sea salt
2 Tbsp. coconut oil
1 egg

For filling:
15 ounces pumpkin
3/4 cup coconut cream
1/4 cup honey
3 eggs
1 Tbsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 tsp. ginger
1/4 tsp. ground cloves

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. In a food processor, pulse the almond flour and salt. Add coconut oil and egg and blend until the dough forms a ball. Carefully press into a pie plate and bake for 10 minutes.
3. While the crust is baking, mix filling ingredients in as large bowl. Pour into crust and return to oven to bake for 50 minutes.
4. Remove from oven and allow to cool completely before serving.

Leave a Reply

