Bolognese Sauce

Let me start with a disclaimer: this meal did not turn out as planned. Yes, the sauce was fabulous, but I had planned on sharing a recipe for Paleo pasta that I got from this incredible cookbook that I received for Christmas from my awesome aunt:IMG_0538.JPG

I had such high hopes, but something just wasn’t quite right. Were my eggs too small? Did it sit too long? Is there a major difference between regular and golden flaxseed meal? Who knows. I do know that the pasta has major potential, and once I figure out the necessary tweaks I will be sure to share the recipe with you. It just wouldn’t roll out thin enough without crumbling. Maybe more egg? Some water? Maybe oil? Let me know what you think in the comments. Here’s a collage of what I was hoping would be an awesome guide to making Paleo pasta:IMG_0544.JPG
So while it’s safe to say that I will be revisiting this, the result was still pretty darn delicious! In the meantime, be sure to try this sauce over spaghetti squash or zucchini noodles, you’ll love it!
IMG_0539.JPG

Ingredients:
2 carrots – peeled and coarsely chopped
2 ribs celery – coarsely chopped
1 large onion – coarsely chopped
5 cloves garlic – minced
1 1/2 lbs. ground turkey
1 6 oz. can tomato paste
1/4 cup red wine
1 tsp. Basil
2 bay leaves
2 cans peeled plum tomatoes drained
Drizzles of olive oil
Salt and pepper

1. In a large pot, heat a drizzle of olive oil over medium high heat. Add carrots, onions, celery, and garlic and sauté for 7 minutes while occasionally stirring. Add tomato paste and cook for 3 more minutes while stirring. Add red wine to deglaze pan and then add tomatoes. Stir in basil, salt, pepper, and bay leaves and lower heat to a simmer.
2. In a large nonstick skillet, brown turkey and break into crumbles. Drain and add to the pot. Stir and allow to come back to a simmer.
3. Cook for two hours while stirring occasionally. Serve over spaghetti squash, zucchini noodles, or perfected paleo pasta.

One thought on “Bolognese Sauce

Leave a Reply

