Lemon Thyme Rainbow Trout

It’s trout season!  I know this makes my daddy-o very happy because they stock the rivers by us.  Opening day, he went out with my husband and they brought home 7 delicious fish!  I love two things about this:

1. My father and husband get along great.
2. Fresh fish for dinner!

trout

I was struggling with a way to make them tastier than just straight up grilling them, so I decided to make a sauce that the Portuguese in me would call a “molho”.  You could use anything you have around the house to make this scrumptious, so I went with what I had.  Who knew that my garden thyme would have survived the winter!?  While I grilled up a big fish feast, I have scaled down the recipe to serve two.

cooked

Ingredients:

2 rainbow trout – gutted and scaled

1/4 cup olive oil

1 clove garlic – minced

1/2 small onion – minced

Juice of 1/2 a lemon

1 Tbsp. fresh thyme leaves

Coarse salt & pepper

1.  Preheat your grill to medium high heat.

2.  Generously season the fish with salt and pepper.  Place in a greased grill basket, and grill for 4-5 minutes per side until it begins to char.

3.  While the fish is grilling, combine the remaining ingredients in a small sauce pan and heat over medium-low heat.

4.  Once fish is done, pour sauce over and enjoy with a fresh squeeze of lemon.

Leave a Reply

