Bacon Littleneck Clams

My entire house smells so good that I want to eat it.

Seriously.

Two hours after creating this dish, it still smells incredible. It makes me a bit bummed that the hubby and I ate it all down to the last drop of delicious molho (that’s Portuguese for scrumptious sauce).

I enjoyed this meal as is, while the hubby dipped some Portuguese bread into the molho. I know for sure that this would have possibly been the best meal ever if it was served over pasta…. Grrrr paleo! Good news is that I thoroughly enjoyed it, had no guilt, and enjoyed feeling satisfied instead of stuffed afterwards.

When shopping for little neck clams, the smaller the better. Our supermarket had fabulous looking little guys on sale this week, so I couldn’t resist. Actually, who am I kidding? I will probably hit them up again later this week and make the same exact thing again!
IMG_0667.JPG
Ingredients:
50 Littleneck clams – rinsed and scrubbed
5 slices thick cut bacon – chopped
1 small onion – chopped
3 cloves garlic – minced
1 red bell pepper – minced
Juice of 1/2 a lemon
1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes
1/4 cup chopped parsley

1. In a large pot over high heat, cook bacon until browned. Add onion and garlic and sauté until fragrant. Add red bell pepper and sauté for 3 minutes of until tender. Add lemon juice and red pepper flakes, cover, and simmer for 5 minutes.
2. Add clams and parsley. Stir, cover and cook for 7-10 minutes while occasionally stirring until all clams have opened.

Leave a Reply

